It’s ok to say NO. It’s ok to disagree. !

Just about all of my life I have been a “YES” person. Not saying that it is a bad thing, BUT … I WAS a “YES” person to EVERYTHING and EVERYBODY even if I didn’t quite necessarily agree. There comes a point in your life when you eventually get tired of it and you have to say “NO” or “I don’t agree” or “You’re wrong” even if that means going against people you love dearly. When you are young, you don’t really have a choice at times because either your parents speak for you, you don’t really know the difference between “Right” and “Wrong” “Yes” or “No” (depending on age) are, or you disagree but are afraid to speak up for yourself. As you get older, one learns that you can’t please everyone and if you disagree or don’t like something, SAY SO ! … At the end of the day it is your life to live, your decisions to make and your mistakes to learn from. These days, everyone has an opinion on something, many think they are always right in some cases and that is not true. People feel that their advice should always be taken, they always have the right a way, they want you to do what they say, as they say, when they say it. NO ! You don’t have to. You are your OWN person, your OWN person, your OWN person. You are living YOUR life.

I have recently learned this within the last few days to be honest. I am 25 years old and was STILL manipulated somewhat into being a “YES” person or a “You’re right” person even when I didn’t agree. I would in simple terms “go with the flow” to avoid conflict because I don’t like arguments or being in disagreements with people.

It took one conversation, one thing I really didn’t agree with, one moment where I was FED UP ! I was at my wits end .. You can’t be scared to speak up and speak your mind because if you don’t, you will be eaten alive and people will forever run over you. You can’t allow that. It’s ok to keep your mouth closed at the appropriate times BUT know that is also FINE to speak your mind even if everyone does not agree.

 

-A

Leave a Reply

