Oldie but Goodie (MiRR0R)

 As I look in the mirror I see myself. I see myself and I am talking to myself; I am asking me where I want to be in the next 5 years. I see that I am somebody who is taking care of business; I see that I am successful in everything that I may do.

As I look in the mirror I feel like a ghost. I see things in the past that have hurt me. I see how I let fear and anger take over me, let those inner emotions hurt me.

As I look in the mirror I see that if I worry about myself and not others I will get somewhere, If I don’t let little things get to me I will have a better chance at succeeding in what I want to do, If I have problems don’t solve in a way that will get me hurt or cause me to be in pain.

As I look in the mirror I see tears. Tears of joy, tears of sadness, tears of happiness. I see tears of sorrow, tears of the pain that I had to suffer in life. Seeing those things make me realize how important life really is.

As I look in the mirror I see life. I see me living, breathing and sensing the love I have for the things I do best.

As I look in the mirror I see my dreams coming true.  I see my name in lights. I see me being successful in what I want to do. I see me enjoying a dream that I thought would never come true.

As I look in the mirror I don’t see that I have a pimple on my face or me having a bad hair day. I see me living my life to the fullest. I see me being happy and moving all the bad things to the side.

As I look in the mirror I see me telling those younger than me don’t take anything you have for granted because in that very second you could lose someone you really love.

As I look in the mirror I see my family telling me stories about our people, black people. Slaves getting beaten because of their skin color, and whites telling us that we are nobody, telling us that we need a miracle for us to have a dream come true.

I see a cloud from a slave saying “If I were white I could capture the world”

As I look in the mirror I see the thoughts in my head combining to create one. I see music notes creating a beat. I see sound creating a harmony.

As I look in the mirror I see what I want to see, I see what I need to see. I see what can make me; I see what can break me. I have figured out that two plus two may be four, but in life you don’t always get the answer that you want.

As I look in the mirror I see death. I see myself looking at me. I see people mourning me on the earth and I see me in heaven saying be joyful.

I see when I am gone someone will be born again and take my place.

As I look in the mirror I see a new beginning for so many things. I see a change that will change for the better.

As I look in the mirror I see “ME” I see “LIFE”

As I look in the mirror I see “DEATH” I see “LIFE”

As I look in the mirror I see “PEACE” I see “LIFE”

As I look in the mirror the whole time I was looking at my life’s reflection

Leave a Reply

