Do it for yourself.

Usually, I am not one to broadcast my life “online” … but recently, I decided …why not ? I have a name. I have a story. I want to motivate. I want to inspire those who may relate. 

Soon to be one year ago, I relocated to a State that I knew nothing about, few people here that I knew, BUT I was determined to do something for ME for ONCE in my life. Before this move, I was always the “do it for everyone but myself” kind of girl. I had so many hopes, so many dreams, I realized that there were so many other possibilities outside the life that I was living. 

It took one trip, one visit, one TIME for me to realize it was time to make THIS change FOR ME. 

I had come to realization that the majority of my life, I have always been a people pleaser. I would always say YES, I would always HOLD back the REAL ME because I was so busy supporting and doing for everyone else but myself. 

When was my time going to come ? When would the day come that I finally said ” Auvi, it’s time to do for you” …

Now, this wasn’t easy , being that no one ever heard me say no, no one knew that I was serious about stepping away from the familiar and going to a not so familiar place…BUT … I was determined to do so and prove everyone wrong. 

I remember like it was yesterday. 

February 12th, 2013 I set off on my trip to Houston, just for fun … had a talk with someone about life and B00M ! That’s when I said .. WHY NOT ? I’m going to move here ! So many jobs, so many opportunities, I wanted to for a long time, but…. I didn’t .. why ?? … because I always put everyone BEFORE myself.

This time…NO… I was going…I was leaving California and I was moving to Houston Texas. My goal was always to do it before the end of the year. I gave myself 7 months to the day to move. I was going to do it, even IF that meant my family disowning me… ( I did think this but hey… you never know) 

From that day forward … I did EVERYTHING in MY power to prove my family wrong, EVERYTHING in my power to believe that this WAS possible and NO ONE could hold me back no matter what. 

Throughout the months it was very difficult. Between visits back and forth, arguments with various people regarding this situation, it hurt … it was tough … it took ALL OF ME to not want to give up and throw in the towel.

FAST FORWARD to September OF 2013. THAT WAS THE DAY … THAT was the day where I gained MY independence. THAT was the day where I realized I CAN do for ME…. it’s ok to say, NO . If I didn’t do that, I would honestly be in the same place, doing the same thing and would be MISERABLE.

Almost a year later from that day, I have a great job, great friends and new opportunities arising each and everyday. 

Moral of the story —> DO FOR YOU ! YOUR happiness is what counts. NEVER hold back for anyone. Life is about TAKING CHANCES and that’s exactly what I did and I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world. 

 

Leave a Reply

